Small Yacht Series 2017

SYS Series 2017

Round 6 - 24th Sept

We had 13 skippers for the penultimate round of this series. The course was set alongside the slipway to allow for a rectangular course with a testing extended reach to the finish line.

There were 3 skippers who sailed with us for the very first time, luckily we had enough spare boats to allow everyone to sail. A warm welcome to Rob, John and Geoff.

The racing was very close with the majority of the fleet finishing within a few minutes of each other. The lead in both classes changed hands several times throughout the day. Rob Arlett (61 RTR) sailed well and used his handicap start to good effect, getting steadily better as the meet progressed. Six different skippers came first in the fleet before classification.

With the breeze becoming less and a slight change in its direction the course became a battle for consistency, with the fleet even more compact. It took count-back to decide the winner in the RTR class.

Well done to Rob Arlett (RTR) and Rod ((Mario) MC) for winning this round. The last round is in a few weeks time Sunday 22nd October.

Kevin SYS sec.

Click on button below to download Pdf score sheet

all meetings 10am - 1pm;

12th February

12th March

23rd April

25th June

30th July

24th September

22nd October (final round)

< current overall points table


above - Alan Barnstable (left) collecting the 2016 series RTR class trophy from the SYS Sec. Kevin Roberts

below - Chris Lewis (right) with the 2016 series MC/Kit trophy


You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player